My Long Arm is Alive in Memphis

IMG_4850In preparation for our move from Oregon to Memphis, Tennessee, last fall, we hired a crew from Boersma’s in McMinnville, Oregon, to take my Innova long arm apart, safely crate it, allow us to watch the whole process and take notes and photos with a plan to put it back together ourselves in Memphis.

The first problem we encountered was an anticipated one – the 12 foot long table with light bar on top would not fit in my 3rd floor sewing studio.  The ceiling height would not accommodate the light bar.  Rather than re-engineer the light structure, we decided to have it live at the end of our master bedroom.  We didn’t want to take up a different room and disrupt our AirBnB plan, and who needs a master bedroom as big as our new one is anyway?

Hubby took on the project of rebuilding my precious machine – and over several days it was accomplished.  It works, it is alive!  I have not quilted a single quilt on it in Memphis, but that is another story.

One thought on “My Long Arm is Alive in Memphis

  1. That’s great! Personally, I’d have re-engineered the light bar and kept the get-away space in my master bedroom, but I imagine quilting is a great get-away for you. Wonderful that you’re ready to start quilting again!

Leave a comment